stay@inselhausbandb.com | 248-921-2890

Check Availability and Make Reservation

Insel Haus Guest Reviews


We invite you to read through some of the comments past guests have left. You can also submit your own review. We love hearing from you!

Overall 4.8
Guest room 4.8
Service 4.9
Value 4.8
Cleanliness 4.8
Onsite Dining 4.8
ratings from bedandbreakfast.com

My friend and I had a chance to attend a knitting retreat in the spring and I can't say enough about the wonderful experience. Christa and Shelby were great hosts and such interesting people. They were very accommodating and even gave us a tour of the island. They are such interesting, well traveled people not to mention Christa is an amazing knitter. We would recommend this wonderful B & B to anyone and so appreciate the warm welcome we received.
5 on October 18, 2014


We LOVED our stay at the Insel Haus. Wonderful hosts, beautiful setting, gorgeous details throughout the home. Christa helped us with transportation to and from the Insel House as well as lent us bikes to explore the Island. We are looking forward to more visits to the Island! I'd recommend the Insel Haus to anyone!
5 on August 10, 2014


My family stayed here for a weekend while visiting BBI. The hosts made everything feel and seem like home. Couldn't ask for a better vacation spot! We will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response—Thank you for a great review! Glad you enjoyed your weekend visit to Bois Blanc Island. Shelby and I hope to see you in the near future. Best to you and yours. 
4.6 on August 02, 2014


We had a wonderful time! Christa and Shelby are delightful hosts. They welcome their guests with open arms and are able to make everyone feel at home and at ease immediately. The first morning we awoke to the sound of gobbling from a large wild turkey with his tail feathers open. We lost count of how many deer we saw on the island and in our back yard. We enjoyed a fire by the lake both evenings and the sunsets were beautiful. The entire experience (except for the mosquitoes!) was a great way to end our vacation to Michigan. I encourage anyone who has not visited Bois Blanc Island to schedule a stay at the Insel Haus. Thank you Christa and Shelby!

Innkeeper Response—Thank you for coming to Insel Haus B&B! The mosquitoes are gone! Yesterday we saw a doe with two fawns. The bambies still had their spots!!! Wish you could have been here to see them. We hope they will grow strong before the next winter. Best to you and yours!
4.8 on June 25, 2014


Christa and Shelby could not have been better hosts! Had a great time and will be back guaranteed! I have no suggestions for the place as everything greatly exceeded expectations!
5 on June 01, 2014


When visiting Bois Blanc we always stay with our relatives. This time we were there to celebrate their son's wedding, so we needed housing. Wow! Was this a delight! Such a well designed large, with a quaint and small cozy feel, Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed our hosts Mr. and Mrs. Newhouse so much, such friendly and interesting people. We also enjoyed sitting in the main living/dining room and visiting with all guests while looking out a large window opening to a view of field and woods. The food....yes, can't forget the delicious breakfasts. Homemade and delicious!! Thank you for creating this warm, inviting home, for people to enjoy.
4.6 on October 20, 2013


If you're looking for an out-of-the-way place to relax and enjoy the wilderness -- this is it! Christa and Shelby are wonderful hosts, and the Insel Haus is an amazing structure with enough history and antiques to keep you occupied for day or two. 
4.6 on July 08, 2013


That is the place to dream of. Will miss it the moment I step on the ferry. I will be back...............for Thanksgiving. That is sure!! 21 days to go!
5 on October 31, 2012


Dear Christa & Shelby, We could not resume the rhythm of our daily lives without a note expressing our gratitude for the magical visit to Insel Haus. You have built not only a lovely retreat center but you have imbued it with your creative energy and spirit. Every aspect; the interior design, the glowing fireplace, the abundance of towels, a bowl of brownies on the counter, the lively discussion among visitors over breakfast. Finally your encouragement to slow the pace of life, walk, swing in the hammock, read on the porch or simply just “be” gave us the opportunity to recharge our batteries and feel healthier and more at peace with our lives. We wish you both good health, and continued success.
4.6 on August 17, 2012


The highlight of our Michigan vacation was our stay on Bois Blanc Island, a ferry's ride away from Cheboygan. Christa and Shelby Newhouse's Insel Haus provides an amazing opportunity to regenerate and recharge. I would call the experience a retreat but now that it's over, our stay at Insel House really feels more like an advancement. Highly recommended. 
4.8 on August 12, 2012


When I first found out about this place, it was just to get away from the madness of work 23 of 26 days while trying to finish things for the wedding and completing all the projects around the house for the big move. I wasn't classifying this as a honeymoon because I wanted more. Well I talked with Christa about all that was going on and how I wanted to make things special for my future wife. Needless to say this is a woman that knows how to pay attention to detail. Oh my God did she do an amazing job on the room for us with roses and candles. Then there was the priceless stories and history from both Christa and Shelby. The charm of this place can only be measured by the two hosts. It was like going back in time only in an enjoyable way. The island was just what we needed, peaceful, quite and beautiful. We both loved our time on the island and will cherish it forever. I am ever so grateful for all that Christa and Shelby did to make this a great experience for us. You're second to none.
4.8 on August 03, 2012


Great hospitality, food and lodging. Always stay at Insel Haus when visiting Maccomb.
5 on June 28, 2011


This was a Fall babymoon getaway. We wanted a location that provided both views and direct access to the water. The Insel Haus provided a perfect getaway weekend and truly unique experience that exceeded our expectations. The charm and character of the Insel Haus, including its proprietors, added to our enjoyable experience. We brought our bikes along and enjoyed riding around this unique island. We definitely look forward to going back, perhaps during summer months where we could take advantage of kayaking and other water activities.
4.0 on October 12, 2010


Insel Haus is a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle. The beautiful home and charming hosts of Insel Haus offer the quiet and solitude of Northern Michigan with the luxury and beauty of any European villa.
5 on September 23, 2010

Guest Reviews


We value feedback from our guests, and want to make your future stays even better. And don't forget to also review us on Google+, TripAdvisor, and Facebook!
Your Name*
Comments*
Address
Phone
Email*
Insel Haus - A Bed and Breakfast | HCR 1, Box 157 - Bois Blanc Island, Michigan 49775, U.S.A.
248-921-2890 | stay@inselhausbandb.com
Property Management System by Reservation Nexus